Fort Ticonderoga tailor

Historic sites throughout the CVNHP thread the region’s cultural heritage into their visitors’ sense of place. Photo: LCBP

The story of human occupation of Lake Champlain and its Basin spans more than 10,000 years. The Basin’s cultural heritage resources include historic structures and settlements of early Europeans, archeological sites on land and under water, sites of traditional and sacred importance to the Abenaki, Iroquois, and Mohican, military battle sites, agricultural sites, and industrial development sites. The CVNHP regularly embarks on large, extended initiatives that on a story that has shaped not only the region, but the nation as a whole.

Champlain Canal Bicentennial

The Champlain Valley National Heritage Partnership is marking the 200th anniversary of the opening of the Champlain Canal. The man-made waterbody forever changed Lake Champlain. Learn more



Temperance, the prohibition of alcohol, and smuggling have a long history in the Champlain Valley. The CVNHP and its partners will commemorate the 18th amendment and the legacy of prohibition in 2021. Learn more


Woman SUffrage

The United States and the CVNHP are celebrating the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage in 2020. Mohawk women in the Champlain Valley had that right long before Europeans arrived. Learn more


Celebrate Champlain

The legacy of French explorer Samuel de Champlain is deeply embedded in the land and people of the region. In 2009, the region commemorated the 400th anniversary of his arrival. Learn more


Champlain Valley Wine Trail

The CVNHP founded the first U.S. International Wine Trail in 2012 as part of the its commitment to connect communities and conservation. Learn more




The CVNHP Region

While the LCBP traditionally focuses on the watershed that drains into Lake Champlain, the area of consideration for the CVNHP includes any historic site or community along the “linked navigable waterways” of Lake Champlain, Lake George, the Champlain Canal, and the Upper Hudson River that contains a physical, cultural, or historical resource that represent the CVNHP’s interpretive themes. The Vermont and New York counties within the Partnership include Grand Isle, Franklin, Chittenden, Addison, Rutland, Bennington, Clinton, Essex, Warren, Saratoga and Washington.

Explore more maps of the CVNHP →